Return to Basecamp
Sort By::
Page of 1


  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 The Do Everything Knife! November 19, 2021
Reviewer: Travis from Woodinville, WA United States  
I bought this knife to keep in my sprinter van. It is the ultimate do everything knife, whether I toss it in my backpack or belt loop for a hike or need to slice up food for dinner. It’s amazing how versatile and lightweight it is for its size. It’s the only knife I need in the van and can use in every situation. Highly recommend it!

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Mighty Fine Knife October 29, 2021
Reviewer: Jared from Temecula, CA  
I’m very impressed with the basecamp. I was looking for a small fixed blade knife that I could easily throw in my gym shorts to work around the house, or strap onto my belt/backpack for a hike and the basecamp hits the mark. It’s incredibly light and there is so much blade length for its small size. It’s nimble, but capable. It fits so well in hand, and I always know here the edge is when using it. Jimping is perfect. Micarta is crafted beautifully, with function in mind. I really can’t say enough about this knife. If you’re on the fence about the basecamp, then  do yourself a favor and take the plunge - you won’t regret it!

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Truly flawless EDC fixed blade October 25, 2021
Reviewer: John Michael from Steamboat Springs, CO  
Really impressed by this blade, I’ve carried my fastpak for several years, I work as an outdoor guide in a variety of fields and a small handy razor sharp blade has innumerable uses in what I do. The basecamp is lovely to use, the extra blade length and handle lend itself to more powerful cuts and taking on bigger projects, though it still manages to disappear on my belt, so light and compact that I never notice it until I need it. Customer service was also outstanding, I emailed with a question and got a prompt and kind response back immediately. Rainier is swiftly becoming my favorite knife maker. Many thanks!

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Excellent general outside use knife... September 9, 2021
Reviewer: olywa from Olympia, WA United States  
...although that's not to say I haven't been using it in the kitchen as well. This little fixed blade excels at everything I put it to. Perfect factory edge and a nice even grind on one of my favorite steels (Elmax).

Comes with a well-fitted minimalist taco kydex sheath that offers great retention along with an easy release. I added another pull-snap and carry it at 10:30 o'clock for easy cross-draw access. Handles are comfortable for extended use and just long enough for a 4-finger grip.

I also have a Fastpak that I love and can't wait to see future releases from Rainier!


Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Be careful!!! September 3, 2021
Reviewer: Scott B from Ballwin, MO United States  
This knife is as sharp as any knife I’ve ever handled. Awesome product1

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Excellent Backcountry Hunting Knife September 2, 2021
Reviewer: Eric from Ohio  
Very pleased with my purchase of the base camp! I was looking for a new knife to use for backcountry hunts out West and this is exactly what I was looking for. Perfect size to get a full grip on the handle, while coming in light at 3.6 oz (confirmed by my postage scale) including the kydex sheath. Razor sharp (I shaved my hand as a test) out of the box, and excellent fit and finish between the scales/tang with top-notch machining on the handle scales and blade jimping. Consider me a fan!

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Perfect EDC fixed blade May 26, 2021
Reviewer: John from North Vancouver , BC Canada  
I have the fast pack and basecamp and both are incredible knives. They came razor sharp and have held up to everything with no issues. They are perfect for hiking, fishing, camping and light tasks, and I have used them extensively during the hot summer months and over the winter with no signs of corrosion or wear. Quality materials, comfortable, customizable handle/sheath colors, at a great price. The customer service from Rainier has been top notch as well. I highly recommend both the fast pack and basecamp! Shipping to Canada was very fast as well.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Double-down on perfect EDC fixed blades- May 5, 2021
Reviewer: Jim Norton from Issaquah, WA United States  
Starting from first principles, the Fastpak is my favorite knife of all time and a perfect EDC fixed blade.

Upon receiving the Basecamp all I can say is it's and impressive sensation to open a box, take out an object, turn it and examine it and realize it's designed and fabricated exactly as it should be. Also realizing you didn't know you needed the thing but now knowing that you do and it's a new benchmark for what you consider to be essential equipment.

The Basecamp is nimble but has presence and feels/performs as larger knife. I don't know how that works but it does. Blade geometry is steep with very good slicing performance. It's a fantastic cutting tool and not a sharpened pry bar. A+.

The blade has great belly and tip for delicate cutting. The upswept blade feels very puukko-esque to me. Again it's made of Elmax which has easily become my favorite steel.

I picked-up (2) Basecamps and I'll probably get at least a 3rd. Money very well spent.

Was this review helpful to you?